Our cities don’t need more cyclists, they need more wheeled pedestrians.

I love this post! I think all people who rely on alternative transportation need to be given more of a voice and representation when using the same road as motorists.

Wheeled Pedestrian Cycling

via Amsterdamize I don’t see cyclists, I see wheeled pedestrians. Image via Amsterdamize

My work colleagues will occasionally regale me with their encounters with cyclists. These unsolicited monologues all tend to have a ‘please explain’ overtone. I guess I’m viewed as a suitable target because I am one of ‘them’. It’s easy for motorists to lump us all together and believe we all exhibit the same bad behaviours. It’s easy to do because cycling is such a rare commodity in this city. Similarly, members of the public will regularly ‘advise’ me to wear a helmet when they see me riding slowly through the park on my bicycle. But are these the same people who are content to overlook a motorist that is using a cell phone while driving? It’s an important distinction because one of those activities has the potential to do some serious harm.

The responses that my colleagues tend to…

View original post 660 more words

Leave a Reply

